The Cowper Inn is composed of two historic turn-of-the-century Palo Alto houses: one built in the Craftsman Style, and the other Victorian.
The Craftsman House was built by a local coal merchant and over time became the property of Dr. Effie York. She owned the corner house from 1911 until 1937, and was Palo Alto's first osteopath (advanced chiropractor). She conducted her practice from her home until her retirement in 1937. During the 1920's and 1930's, she used the second house (Victorian) as a club for Filipino students attending Stanford University.
The next owner, Mrs. Elise Bailey Stone, changed the corner house to include apartments. She first lived in one of the apartments and later in the main house until she moved to a nursing home in 1957. There were several owners of the properties from 1958 until 1986.
Today the Craftsman and Victorian House operate as a unique Bed and Breakfast. We invite you to come learn more about us and stay with us to experience a time of refinement and elegance.